Archive for May 31, 2012

Music: Isles and Glaciers:Viola Lion

I’m out of acronyms. Discontinued.

A lesson about wordpress and other blogging software for those who ever want to start a blog: Storage space called ‘hosting’ (think Dr. Evil, “laser beam”) costs money. They give you a small part for free and the rest is pay per usage. Call it the drug dealer model.

Anyway that to say this is a post involving a video of ACL surgery, mostly because I was curious. The video is about an hour long-I didn’t watch the whole thing and I seriously doubt any of you will, so here’s the link and I’ve spelled out some highlights you should skip to, if you, you know, want to see somebody drill into a knee.

Which you do. Here’s the link, and I suggest you open it in a new tab or window so you can read my snarky comments as the video plays.

ACL reconstruction

2:30 seconds: Harvesting the hamstring tendon. This, hopefully, will once and for all disprove Justin’s theory that the hamstring tendon was retrieved anally. Also I have a very similar looking wound beside my knee.

9:00 Preparing the new ACL. Surgeons are probably excellent knitters. Stitching one tendon (hamstring) into something completely different (ACL) is a fascinating process to me. Plus you should see his embroidery.

20:00 Drilling into the knee. Oh here it comes. Drilling into bone makes a much softer sound than I was anticipating.

34:00 Drill goes all the way through the knee. Did not realize that happened. I wonder if they would let me keep the drill for Halloween?

36:00 Counter-sinking drill holes. I’m familiar with this technique from woodwork. I suppose it works on bone as well.

39:00 What the ACL looks like before it goes in. Ew. Kind of like a sinewy hot dog.

41:00 Screwdriver to the knee. That is literally a tool I have in the shed out back. Makes you wonder what surgery is like in the deep south.

“Hey J. R., grab me that bottle opener, half of that old oil can, and some lug nuts.”

47:30 Twisting, tightening, other things I don’t quite understand. Ah, so the big bruise hurt more than the little ones because there were lots of things going in and out of there for an hour.  Lets not do that again.

Kudos to my physical therapist, James, for pointing out ORlive.com to me. Now I just REALLY hope watching surgery’s doesn’t become a hobby of mine…(Check out total knee replacement, like a horror movie)

Until next time! I suppose I could tell you about physical therapy, and other exciting happenings! Stay tuned!

This was probably not the drill used, but I needed a picture to get you here