Redefining the pain scale, 1-10

Posted: May 29, 2012 in Uncategorized

Music: Metallica, Bleeding Me

ACL: A compensatory list

 

One of the questions you get asked literally every doctors appointment and physical therapy session is “How would you rate your pain on a scale of 1-10?” Now as someone trained in social research, I could tell  you that scales undefined do not carry a lot of meaning if the person responding does not know what they are comparing.

And I worry about things like this.

 

For the greater good of the medical profession, I have defined my own pain scale of 1-10.

 

 

1. Bunnies

As we are starting with the low end of the scale, a ‘1’ will signify adorable, cuddly bunnies. 1, clearly, is not so bad

2. Asparagus, eaten, cooked, or smelled.

Looks, tastes, and feels like something found at the bottom of a lake. Not food, no matter what I’ve been told

3. Rihanna

Clearly cannot sing, voice resembles animals dying painfully.

4. Racking your funny bone

Bash elbow into door frame, make face like so. Don’t let friends see you cry

5. Chewing tinfoil.

Go on, think ‘chew’.
I feel unclean

6.  Watching 16 and pregnant

Included because the show is (presumably) awful, but also that it represents encouraging teenagers to get pregnant for TV fame. Thanks MTV, no way the next generation will have long lasting and permanent scaring from your afternoon programming.

7. Going hiking with your dog, he gets into a nest of yellow jackets, and before you can say ‘poor guy’ he comes barreling straight your way.

Spud no longer likes bees

8. Road rash

Ever fallen off a bike and thought, “Don’t worry, the nice soft concrete will catch me and break my fall?”

9. Beaten with a bag of hammers

Whereas the bunny (1) is cute and cuddly, hammers, not so much. I include this because in the first week I actually responded in this way to the pain question: I feel less like I got beaten with a bag of hammers than I did yesterday. Eugena was confused

10. Walking on by the ocean with a wet bathing suit and no boxers

I include this as my ’10’ because it is one of the worst things I have ever experienced in my life. I once took a long, long walk down the beach after a swim, might as well have been wearing a thong made of sandpaper and poison ivy. While getting smacked in the neither region by a midget holding a cactus.

 

If you ever have surgery I encourage you to invent your own scale, but if you don’t want to take the time, feel free to use mine.

 

I’m somewhere between Rihanna’s new single and being beaten with a bag of hammers. Not as far off as you would think.

Comments
  1. Lindsay Schenck says:

    I love this!!!!! You have no idea how many time I have realized that Pts don’t know how to use the pain scale! I love your version!

  2. mastercoachz says:

    Refreshing, smart and inspiring blog! I literarily just started in my blog writing journey and all the tutorials and suggestion I reviewed thus far does not come close to what I learned from yours.
    You wrote about a REAL TOPIC anyone can relate to, you made it humorous and creative.
    You have used multimedia so I know it is not a software generated SEO artist automated blurb but a real person, with real thoughts. Moreover, I enjoyed reading it!
    Thank you! I am now really inspired to invest creative time into creating creative blog entries like yours.
    Zsolt
    PS: Incidentally I created a scale 1-10 myself and if you would give me feedback on it, but I rather not post my link here since I do not want to take away any credit form what I wrote. I mean every word of it regardless you will look at my scale or not.

    • JGerber says:

      Hey there and thanks for the read,

      I started this blog because I wanted to have a place to tell people how I’m doing without having to tell each and every one of them individually. Incidentally, blogging turned out to be a lot of fun and a good opportunity to make myself laugh during the day. My theory is have fun writing it, and the people reading will have fun too.

      I would love to take a look at your scale, I didn’t take mine too seriously. Clearly we are bettering the medical profession.

      Cheers!

      • mastercoachz says:

        Hello again JGerber

        Humor is a very special characteristic of creative thinking. I shall keep your blog in my reference library as well as to share it with my Screen Writer friend Rachel, to demonstrate such ability

        (humor) being applied with elegant simplicity in this new media we are just learning about: Blog

        FYI: I actually updated my master reference map on Creative thinking with your url 😉

        Ah, my scale?

        The app for iPhone or iPad was uploaded to Apple 4 days ago so I am still waiting on Apple Inc approval and placement of it to the app store but if you check in a week or so, search for Hi9

        and there you have it free of charge as you start up the app. (Provided you are an iPhone user)

        Alternatively you can visit the support web site: https://shareyourwisdomworldwise.com/ but you would need to sign up and go through validation process to get to it…

        Sorry, I have no other way to demonstrate it.

        Anyhow, if you got more humor, send me URL.

        Thanks

        Z

  3. […] you get used to varying degrees of pain in the joint when you’re doing just about anything. When I started this process, I clearly bettered the medical profession by defining my own pain scale…  This sounds weird, but I’m not sure if the landing caused me physical pain, or if the […]

Leave a comment